Leave a request

Ilyashev & Partners Initiates Anti-Dumping Investigation into Imports of Steel Fasteners to Ukraine

News date: 29 January 2020

Ilyashev & Partners Law Firm, representing the interests of Druzhkovka Hardware Plant PrJSC, has initiated an anti-dumping investigation into imports of steel fasteners from the People’s Republic of China to Ukraine. The Interdepartmental International Trade Commission launched the investigation on 2 December 2019 further to the Request drafted by the team of International Trade Practice of Ilyashev & Partners Law Firm under the leadership of Partner Olena Omelchenko.

“Our team is concentrated on gathering the proof of the existing dumped imports into Ukraine, which is causing material injury to the domestic industry. We believe that imports from China is significantly distorting the competition in Ukraine and may result in driving the national manufactures from the domestic market. The application of interim anti-dumping duties will help to keep jobs in Ukraine and attract investments in the metal industry in the future. We expect that the Ministry of Economy and the Interdepartmental International Trade Commission will soon consider the implementation of the corresponding interim measures”, – said Olena Omelchenko, Partner, Head of International Trade Practice at Ilyashev & Partners Law Firm.

Depending upon the results of the anti-dumping investigation and with a view to establish fair competition and protect good faith manufacturers from dumped imports, an anti-dumping duty may be imposed on imports of fasteners from the PRC. The anti-dumping investigation is going to take 12-18 months to complete.

Druzhkovka Hardware Plant PrJSC specializes in the production of metal products: bolts, nuts, rivets for general machine-building, fasteners for the upper structure of railway tracks, high-strength fasteners for engineering and bridge structures according to the normative documentation. The plant’s range of products is used by Ukrainian railways and exported to Poland, Turkey, Moldova, and Kazakhstan.